LEGO Serious Play Facilitator Training UK


Because it can be a little confusing for would be trainees to assess different training pathways, this FAQ seeks to offer answer common questions.

  • Can I get trained by or at LEGO?

    No. In 2010 The LEGO Group made the LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® method Open Source. The LEGO Group does not offer any kind of training.

  • Are there any trainers officially approved by the LEGO Group?

    No. You can only get trained by organisations that are not part of, owned or approved by LEGO. It is worth noting that LEGO recommended that people wanting to use the method undertake facilitation training in the Open Source Guide they wrote (pages 30, 38 and 40).

  • What is the 'Open Source Guide' and where can I get a copy?
    LEGO® Serious Play® Open Source Guide

    The Open Source Guide is a 48 page PDF written by LEGO in 2010. It describes the basic principles of LEGO® Serious Play® and has been made available by the LEGO Group under a ‘Attribution Share Alike’ Creative Commons licence.

    You can view and download a copy

  • Who owns LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY®?

    The LEGO Group own the LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® intellectual property (IP), but in 2010 they made the method 'Open Source' and licensed the IP under a creative commons 'Attribution Share Alike’ licence.

    This means anyone is free to use, share and adapt the method, provided appropriate credit is given. We have built our training programmes using, adapting and developing the basic ideas.

  • What are the pros and cons of the different training providers?

    There are different training providers offering different kind of training experience. We have direct experience of some of the most well known trainers, if you'd like to discuss the pros and cons of each, please get in contact.

  • Who owns the Core Process?

    The core process described in the LEGO Open Source Guide is owned by the LEGO Group, subject to the creative commons licence. Anyone can use, share and adapt, the core process provided they give due credit to the LEGO group.

    The LEGO Open Source Guide decribes the core process as:
    1. Set the Challenge > 2. Build > 3. Share
    1. Context > 2. Build > 3. Reflect > 4. Integrate

    We think LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® meetings and workshops are most effective by following a
    six step process. Or you might think of it as a two + four process. Two vital steps in the preparation phase, and then during a workshop (often many cycles of) a four step process with participants.

    LEGO® Serious Play® applications model
  • What does certification mean?

    Certificate - noun: "A document confirming that someone has reached a certain level of achievement in a course of study or training. A university accredited certificate."

    All current LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® certification processes, no matter which training provider, offer
    'certificates of completion'.

    Provided you complete the training course you get a certificate of completion (no matter what your skill level or competency, this kind of certification does not mean people who are 'certified' have met quality assured standards of practice).

  • Can I get a 'Certificate of Competency'?

    Yes. Serious Work authors have developed a competency based certification process that trained facilitators who have completed any training programme with any trainer can proceed to.

    We aim to drive the quality of practice up though peer reviewed competency assessment processes.

  • What are LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® 'Applications'?

    LEGO describe ‘applications’ as detailed roadmaps of different workshops which make use of the LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® principles and philosophy used with LEGO® bricks.

    In the 2010 LEGO Open Source Guide LEGO said, 'New applications will be developed by the international community of users, and may be shared online. In this new phase, we welcome creative uses of these tools, and innovation in the community.'

    The SeriousWork book describes in detail five 'roadmaps' for the following applications:

    Goal Setting
    Team Building
    Shared Vision
    Ideas Workshops
    Values and Behaviours Workshops

    LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® - Typical Applications & Build Levels

    LEGO® Serious Play® applications model

    These five applications are mostly Build Level 1 and can be achieved though individual model building. Shared vision is a Build Level 2 technique.

  • Other questions?

    If you have a question not covered here, email it to Sean@Serious.Global or give us a call.

© SeriousWork 2017

LEGO, SERIOUS PLAY, the Minifigure and the Brick and Knob configurations are trademarks of the LEGO Group, which does not sponsor, authorize or endorse this website. SeriousWork respects and aligns with the the LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® trademark guidelines


SeriousWork uses the LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® method described in the LEGO Group Open Source Guide made available by LEGO under a Creative Commons licence ‘Attribution Share Alike’